.

Poll: Should Mitt Romney Release His Tax Returns Dating Back to 2000?

President Obama's IRS filings since 2000 are a public record, but former Republican Gov. Mitt Romney has disclosed only one.

Pressure is mounting for Mitt Romney to reveal more of his tax returns. His presidential rival, Barack Obama, has made public his filings dating back to 2000. But Republican Romney has disclosed just one year so far: 2010 (he also released an incomplete estimate for 2011). Even if he has nothing to hide, should Romney give up his privacy rights? Or should he meet a higher standard of disclosure as a candidate for the highest office?

Note: You now have to be signed in to vote. To register (it’s free), just click Join in the upper right of the homepage. When signing up, you can check boxes to receive the daily Patch newsletter and Breaking News Alerts.

Chas Holman July 17, 2012 at 07:07 PM
Ha.. fashionably early as always.. as I am the only one that voted.. my vote wins.. *reminder* get out and vote for Barack Obama this year... well, unless your set on the Governor.. I'm an American.. get out there and vote and participate in this wonderful process we have no matter who you feel represents your core values best,... there is nothing to fear.. if your candidate doesn't win, you still get to participate.. it's a great country that way.
Kendall Watson July 17, 2012 at 10:21 PM
No joking, Jeff. It's true that this has been in the news already quite a bit, but I thought it was reasonable to assume folks on Mercer Island might have a unique perspective on the issue of offering the public a look at several years of your tax returns. This normally isn't an issue for candidates running for president, just as releasing your health records isn't normally an issue until it came up in 2008 after Sen. McCain delayed releasing the records several times, leading to speculation that there might be something there he wanted to hide. In addition, a number of prominent Republicans (Gov. Haley Barbour, Gov. Rick Perry, Rep. Pete Sessions, ect., ect.) have suggested Romney should release additional years of tax returns. http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2012/07/17/republicans-step-up-calls-for-romney-to-release-more-tax-returns/
Phillip July 18, 2012 at 07:14 PM
Hey Jeff, do you truly think that academic records are of the same importance as financial records? His tax returns are important because he is running on his record as a businessman so it only fair we see how he handles his business. not only that, it would prove or disprove his contention that he left Bain 1999 (which we already know is a lie). let's give it a little perspective, when his Dad ran, he released 12 yrs worth of returns. In 2008 McCain released 23 yrs worth of returns and Obama released 12yrs. common sense says that whatever is in those returns in more damaging than the considerable damage he is taking now, which tells me there is something in there he doesn't want people to see, like this: Romney's Stericycle made money from abortion clinics http://current.com/blog/93830148_romneys-stericycle-made-money-from-abortion-clinics.htm Bringing up Ayers (never convicted of anything unlike McCain's good buddy G. Gordon Liddy and that's a fact) and Davis show us you really have nothing to work with except fear, smear and lies.
Sarah Weinberg July 19, 2012 at 01:40 AM
If we are ever going to get a handle on the corporate corruption disabling our American government, we are, at the very least, going to need to REQUIRE all candidates for high national office to make public their federal income tax returns for the past several years. Mr. Romney needs to demonstrate that he has some interest in the public good, and isn't just running for President to steer even more of our GDP into the pockets of the very few very rich (like him). So far, he shows no concern for the public's right to know a lot about someone who wants to be their president.
Kendall Watson July 19, 2012 at 05:12 AM
Hi Phillip & Jeff, Please refrain from personal attacks and name calling. This explicitly banned by our Terms of Use (http://mercerisland.patch.com/terms). I would appreciate it if you both refactored your comments and omitted those. The points you make are powerful enough without having to resort to that kind of language. Thanks.
Phillip July 19, 2012 at 06:50 AM
I notice you can't answer the question, instead choosing to post an incoherent rant filled with wildly inaccurate assumptions. You know nothing about me but because I have the unmitigated gall, the audacity to ask you a simple question I must be some sort of 'merica hatin', obama-lovin' welfare sucking, filthy hippy commie in need of a lecture of what it means to be a true patriot like yourself. You know this how? Because I asked you a simple question. Do you want to know something factual, non-partisan about me? I have a honorable discharge from the US Army. What branch of the service is yours from? Have a nice evening
Phillip July 19, 2012 at 04:47 PM
'.......crickets.........' yeah that's what I thought...............
Kendall Watson July 19, 2012 at 11:46 PM
Jeff, it is apparent that neither of you will abate in violating our terms of use, so I will remove all of your comments and the responses to them that are not permitted. Patch encourages the exchange of ideas and debate, even vigorous debate, but does not allow the promulgation of threatening, defamatory, or abusive speech. If it continues, further measures will be taken.
Kendall Watson July 20, 2012 at 12:21 AM
Jeff, rest assured that if you, in particular, violate the terms of use again you will experience an escalating level of restrictions on Mercer Island Patch. Fair warning.
Kendall Watson July 20, 2012 at 01:16 AM
I am required by my employer to enforce the rules, Jeff. If you feel there is a problem with my performance as editor, then you are free to submit your claim in writing to support@patch.com.
Ira B. Appelman July 20, 2012 at 02:10 AM
Whether he should or he shouldn't, based on my experience, I think he is going to have to release his tax returns. And it's REPUBLICANS who need Romney to do it, the sooner the better. Romney hasn't been nominated yet. Republicans need to know he doesn't have a disqualifying problem BEFORE they nominate him. If Romney is nominated and it turns out he has a major problem based on his tax returns or anything else, game over. The time before the conventions is the vetting period. A lot rides on these high stakes, Presidential elections. It will be interesting to see if Romney can figure out a way to avoid releasing his taxes, but so far he's been clumsy, clumsy, clumsy.
Ira B. Appelman July 20, 2012 at 05:22 PM
Hi Jeff: If Romney has nothing to hide, he should have defused the situation by releasing his returns. His wife said in a TV interview that releasing more returns would lead to more attacks, which suggests something is there. I don't think there's any need to speculate because I think the Republican establishment will insist that he release his tax returns. It's not for me to decide; it's for the public to decide what's disqualifying and problematic. I don't think the public cares about (or even remembers) Billy Ayers and Bernardine Dohrn. Their masterpiece, "Prairie Fire," is well worth reading as a prime example of political psychosis. What I don't understand is all the armchair geneologists who have decided Obama wasn't born in the U.S. NOW is the time to challenge a candidate's qualifications for office AT THE STATE LEVEL. If only one state refuses to place Obama on the ballot because he isn't a natural born citizen (Article 2, Section 1) that sets up a court challenge that decides the matter. As a federal court judge has ruled, once a President is elected, the courts have no authority to remove him/her. It's put-up-or-shut-up time for those who have and are going to continue to tell us that Obama wasn't born in the United States. They need to challenge his inclusion on ballots in all 50 states and see what happens. This is the LAST opportunity to get a formal determination of Obama's citizenship. Act now, or they must forever hold their peace.
Jon H July 21, 2012 at 01:45 PM
It is foolish to hold out and make this an issue by holding back. If I was Mitt, I would provide all the tax filings, plus 5 years more. Also, I would provide all college records, thesis papers and any other record of interest. Ann Romney should do the same. This should include character references for all past jobs and associations. Basically all the things that you would have to provide in order to obtain a security clearance. Then I would challenge Obama to do the same along with Michelle, Harry Reid and Nancy Pelosi. If they didn't then I would beat them with that cudgel every time they brought up some stupid thing they mined out of that doc dump. The bottom line is that the massively hypocritical democrat 'leadership' is never going to get the same scrutiny that the Republican or other party candidate will experience. The media lapdogs are going to dig into things no matter. Then they'll spend a week talking about how much the Romney's spend on blah or foo and oh the horrors of how the rich just screw everyone...
Kendall Watson July 21, 2012 at 07:56 PM
I am required by my employer to enforce the Terms of Use, Phillip. If you feel there is a problem with my performance as editor, then you are free to submit your claim in writing to support@patch.com.
Dave Mowers August 01, 2012 at 09:59 AM
Yeah right, a draft dodger who dumped pensions on the taxpayer for a profit and dismantled entire industries sending the jobs overseas even running a company specializing in replacing American workers with Chinese who according to Harry Reid doesn't even bother to pay any income taxes by the way and refuses to disclose his ownership in multi-billion dollar offshore hedge funds and these are "non-issues"? Yeah, whatever.
Dave Mowers August 01, 2012 at 10:00 AM
Because "academic records" are more important than not paying federal income taxes.
Dave Mowers August 01, 2012 at 10:03 AM
More importantly is what that medical waste products business wanted to do with aborted fetuses; sell them commercially for use in the market. So under Romney will will pay young women to get pregnant so we can kill their baby in the womb to sell it on a commodities-type market system to be used in research, or as food products or perhaps we can make really soft handbags for wealthy women from their skin? You think this is normal behavior?
Dave Mowers August 01, 2012 at 10:08 AM
He cannot because he never paid any income taxes on the money choosing instead to use Bain dividends as deferred investment in his children's personal trusts to the tune of 250 million. So he doesn't pay taxes and when he is President, as he has stated, he will eliminate the estate tax so he will have never paid any taxes and neither will his sons on that money. In addition, he owns or controls several offshore hedge funds and reports ZERO INCOME, yeah right, from those enterprises. Romney, in short, believes his wealth puts him above taxes and the law. He cannot release these records as it will prove everything I have said.
Dave Mowers August 01, 2012 at 10:11 AM
This "Kendall" is the most responsible moderator I have ever seen on the internet. Thank You Kendall it is refreshing to see someone acting intelligent and conservative.
Phillip August 01, 2012 at 06:10 PM
watch it Dave expressing such naive and offensive opinions will cause the dude to lecture you on your lack of patriotism, faith and your un-American inability to accept republican propaganda in an unquestioning manner. Don't you know order to be a good American you must not question Romney. When it comes to differences of opinion the dude does NOT abide.
Dave Mowers August 02, 2012 at 04:42 PM
LOL! Yeah and make a statement about the now 37 TRILLION dollars in subsidies, asset purchases, loan guarantees, zero percent interest loans, direct investment and debt cancellations paid for by the taxpayer to date thru the federal reserve and TARP programs and how magically not ONE THIN DIME is trickling down to help the majority and you find rabid-mouthed, fake Republicans know nothing about it? Have no idea what is really going on only what Faux News says?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something